Return to accessibility navigation at the top of the page.

Satisfactory Academic Progress

Satisfactory Academic Progress is something PCC and the Department of Education takes very seriously. There is a lot of information on our webpage but the three things you need to know about SAP are:

  1. Attend you classes and earn a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA.
  2. Minimize your withdrawals and failing grades.
  3. Complete your certificate or degree as quickly as possible.

PCC has established the following standards and procedure to define and administer Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) for those students who are recipients of Title IV* (or federal) funding. All recipients of Title IV funding are governed by this policy. The SAP standards is in accordance with and references the language from regulations, CFR 34, Section 668.16, promulgated under the Higher Education Act* of 1965 (HEA), as amended. The College adheres to federal policy, as set forth in HEA in the administration of SAP for Title IV recipients, in all respects.  It is important to note that the context of financial aid policies words are at times defined differently than in normal use. The first time that a word is used that may be unfamiliar it is followed by an asterisk (*). Definitions for words that are followed by an asterisk can be found in the glossary at the end of the SAP standards.

The College has also established academic standards apart from the SAP standards that govern all students including those who are not Title IV recipients. HEA requires that to demonstrate administrative capability, an institution must have a SAP standards that is equivalent to or stricter for Title IV recipients than the standards for students enrolled in the same educational program who are not receiving federal aid. Students who are Title IV aid recipients are also subject to all of the College’s academic policies and must meet those standards in addition to the minimum federal policies detailed below. In those instances when the College’s academic policies are stricter than the minimum SAP standard, students are subject to the College’s academic policy for receipt, continuation or reinstatement of their Title IV financial aid. Thus, PCC’s SAP standards is stricter for Title IV recipients than it is for those students who are not receiving federal aid. For additional information about the College’s academic progress standards that govern all students please read that section of the catalog.

The SAP standards applies to the following types of Title IV aid:

  • Federal Pell Grant (Pell)
  • Federal Iraq and Afghanistan Service Grant (IASG)
  • Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG)
  • Federal Work Study (FWS)
  • Federal Direct Student Loans (Subsidized and Unsubsidized)
  • Federal Parent Loan for Undergraduate Students (PLUS)

The College administers other types of financial assistance which may include but are not limited to - scholarships (which may require a higher grade point average than the minimum in the SAP standards), VA benefits, athletic scholarships and state grants. Academic progress (and other) requirements for non-Title IV aid are described in the eligibility criteria for those forms of assistance.

As with any area of Title IV policy it is critical to understand that students must meet all SAP requirements within the context of all existing federal and institutional regulations. Thus, students must meet all Title IV and institutional requirements and regulations in order to receive federal financial aid.